Book Lover – Words from Spurgeon

A quote from Charles Haddon Spurgeon, with whom I heartily concur:

“The man who never reads will never be read. He who never quotes will never be quoted. He who will not use the thoughts of other men’s brains, proves that he has no brains of his own. Brethren, what is true of ministers is true of all our people. You need to read…. My books are my tools. They also serve as my counsel, my consolation, and my comfort. They are my source of wisdom and the font of my education. They are my friends and my delights. They are my surety, when all else is awry, that I have set my confidence in the substantial things of truth and right.” (Charles Spurgeon)

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “Book Lover – Words from Spurgeon

  1. Mendi

    Such truth in that quote. If you put good in, good will come out. That Spurgeon knows what’s up! 🙂

  2. P2

    Amen, Sister. The pastor at the first church I attended used to say that we were all sort of like tubes of toothpaste in that whenever we get squeezed in this life, whatever is inside of us is what comes out. Jesus says pretty much the same thing in Luke:

    “The good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth what is good; and the evil man out of the evil treasure brings forth what is evil; for his mouth speaks from that which fills his heart.” (Luke 6:45)

    That’s why it’s so important to fill our hearts and our minds with the knowledge of God and the gospel of His grace. I thank God for all the brothers (and sisters) who have taken the time to write down their Godward thoughts. It’s like our fellowship meal Sunday; these Christian men and women have all taken the time to labor and prepare a meal for the brethren, out of love, to feed and to nourish us… and all we have to do is come and eat! What a blessing!

    ~Peace & Blessings~

Leave a Reply

