New Apostolic Reformation Discussion

Ingrid Schleuter of Crosstalk has posted a discussion that she had with Jewel Grewe of Discernment-Ministries.com. If you’ve read my post “Counter-Fit Christian Culture & The Holy Spirit House Party“, you know that I attended a charismatic church I attended for a few months last year after it started to get pretty weird. In my article I referred to the undercurrent that was surfacing in the church as “Apostolic-Prophetic”, but the technical name (as Jewel and Ingrid reminded me) for this movement is the New Apostolic Reformation. Most self-professed Christians have no idea that this insidious teaching is spreading like a computer virus and infecting church communities (especially charismatic and Pentecostal churches) often without any knowledge of the congregation. It’s rooted in the occult, and was the beginning of the eye-opening experiences I’ve had over the past year with deception in the church. As I stated in my other post, I don’t go looking for this stuff. I’m not a heresy hunter. I prefer to spend my time studying the word of God than the distortions of His word, but I won’t ignore these heretical movements when they jump right up in front of me.

If you are not familiar with this term or this movement, I would suggest you listen to the audio clip above. Sandy Simpson also has a lot of good information on his web site:Deception in the Church.

The website that really helped me start making sense of what was going on at that church we left (unfortunately the site is no longer active, but still has a lot of good material archived) was The Sign of Jonah.

Unfortunately, the Amazon discussion that I started when I initially sought information on what this stuff was is no longer available on Amazon, or I’d link to that, too. One guy responded and gave me his email address, and sent me (via snailmail) a binder full of information on this heretical movement.

I know that it seems like the last couple of weeks have had a lot of posts related to heresy and apostasy. I will try to get back to some more positive content in the days and weeks to come. However, as always my hope is that whatever I post here will strengthen and edify the body of Christ. May He use this humble page for His glory. Amen.

Peace & Blessings,
Simple Mann

Leave a comment

Filed under Apologetics, Culture, Evangelism, General, Heresy, Theology

Leave a Reply

