The Last Word on The Shack

Okay, hopefully this is the last post I’ll make concerning William Young’s book The Shack here on this site.  I’ve already spent more time on this than I ever wanted to, but I am concerned by the trend that I am seeing where people are so quickly and eagerly led astray.  Whether it’s Osteen’s message that God just wants to give you whatever old selfish stuff you want, or Oprah and her promotion of Echkart Tolle and A Course in Miracles, or Todd Bentley and his demonic angel emma, or The Shack with its culturally-relevant anti-establishment hip-happening-now trinity, or the multitude of other pseudo-Christian psychobabble drudge–it seems like millions and millions of sheep are bleating their way down the wide road and it just baffles and boggles my mind.  In all truth, it does more than that.  It breaks my heart.  I am not just sitting here shaking my head.  My heart is truly broken for all these lost souls being led astray.  I don’t understand it, and I struggle to make sense of it.

One of the fellows who has undoubtedly found fame and fortune by being included as the handful of endorsers on the back of The Shack left me a comment earlier today–his name is Mike Morrell from zoecarnate.com.  After I replied back to him, I checked out his site, and then looked for some additional information about The Shack on the Internet.  Other than Amazon reviews, I haven’t really spent much time looking into it.  I have to say that the majority of the posts, comments, and sites that I came across were extremely favorable toward the book and the author.  I didn’t spend a whole lot of time searching around, but I would venture to say from what little digging I did, there was probably at least 80 to maybe 90 percent positive response on the Internet.  I definitely seem to be in the minority.  Quite honestly, though, that really doesn’t concern me.

I did find this page put together by Berit Kjos pretty interesting.  I did not spend a lot of time on this site or look much into the author’s background, but I thought the comparison of themes between William Young’s The Shack and the “channeled” book, A Course in Miracles, was interesting and thought-provoking.

More than any website, review, or opinion, though, I will trust the Word of God when it comes to Truth, the Way, and the Life.  And so, in closing, here are just a few passages of scripture that come to mind as my mind drifts off and slumber comes…

Joh 3:14  “As Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so must the Son of Man be lifted up;
Joh 3:15  so that whoever believes will in Him have eternal life.
Joh 3:16   “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.
Joh 3:17  “For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him.
Joh 3:18  “He who believes in Him is not judged; he who does not believe has been judged already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.
Joh 3:19  “This is the judgment, that the Light has come into the world, and men loved the darkness rather than the Light, for their deeds were evil.
Joh 3:20  “For everyone who does evil hates the Light, and does not come to the Light for fear that his deeds will be exposed.
Joh 3:21  “But he who practices the truth comes to the Light, so that his deeds may be manifested as having been wrought in God.”

The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, But a wise man is he who listens to counsel. (Proverbs 12:15)

There is a way which seems right to a man, But its end is the way of death. (Proverbs 14:12 and 16:25)

“The heart is more deceitful than all else
And is desperately sick;
Who can understand it? (Jeremiah 17:9)

Wash your heart from evil, O Jerusalem, That you may be saved. How long will your wicked thoughts Lodge within you? (Jeremiah 4:14)

‘This wicked people, who refuse to listen to My words, who walk in the stubbornness of their hearts and have gone after other gods to serve them and to bow down to them, let them be just like this waistband which is totally worthless.  ‘For as the waistband clings to the waist of a man, so I made the whole household of Israel and the whole household of Judah cling to Me,’ declares the LORD, ‘that they might be for Me a people, for renown, for praise and for glory; but they did not listen.’ (Jeremiah 13:10-11)

Eze 14:1  Then some elders of Israel came to me and sat down before me.
Eze 14:2  And the word of the LORD came to me, saying,
Eze 14:3  “Son of man, these men have set up their idols in their hearts and have put right before their faces the stumbling block of their iniquity. Should I be consulted by them at all?
Eze 14:4  “Therefore speak to them and tell them, ‘Thus says the Lord GOD, “Any man of the house of Israel who sets up his idols in his heart, puts right before his face the stumbling block of his iniquity, and then comes to the prophet, I the LORD will be brought to give him an answer in the matter in view of the multitude of his idols,
Eze 14:5  in order to lay hold of the hearts of the house of Israel who are estranged from Me through all their idols.”‘
Eze 14:6   “Therefore say to the house of Israel, ‘Thus says the Lord GOD, “Repent and turn away from your idols and turn your faces away from all your abominations.
Eze 14:7  “For anyone of the house of Israel or of the immigrants who stay in Israel who separates himself from Me, sets up his idols in his heart, puts right before his face the stumbling block of his iniquity, and then comes to the prophet to inquire of Me for himself, I the LORD will be brought to answer him in My own person.
Eze 14:8  “I will set My face against that man and make him a sign and a proverb, and I will cut him off from among My people. So you will know that I am the LORD.
Eze 14:9   “But if the prophet is prevailed upon to speak a word, it is I, the LORD, who have prevailed upon that prophet, and I will stretch out My hand against him and destroy him from among My people Israel.
Eze 14:10  “They will bear the punishment of their iniquity; as the iniquity of the inquirer is, so the iniquity of the prophet will be,
Eze 14:11  in order that the house of Israel may no longer stray from Me and no longer defile themselves with all their transgressions. Thus they will be My people, and I shall be their God,”‘ declares the Lord GOD.”
Peace & Blessings,
Simple Mann

1 Comment

Filed under Apologetics, Church, Rant, Scripture

One response to “The Last Word on The Shack

  1. Pingback: simplemann.net » Blog Archive » Little House on the Sandlot

Leave a Reply

