Dis-ease and Dis-traction

I meant to post something yesterday, but time seems to be in short supply. Everyone stayed home sick yesterday. Well, except for me. I stayed home because the storms from the night before knocked out our power and I waited to take my shower until the power returned, and then got a phone call from the office to let me know the power was still down there, too. Since it’s about an hour drive to work, and because of how widespread the outage was, I worked from home… as best as I could with my wife and three kids also in the house. Thankfully, everyone was feeling better by the time the day was over.

I saw this video last night on youtube, and was mortified by some of the things this woman said:

I came across this from in an Amazon discussion I happened to notice last night called “The Church of Oprah”. It had some interesting posts from people of varying opinions, and if you have time you might be interested in checking it out:
I also posted a few comments in Amazon discussions with some folks who believe there are many paths to Heaven, that God saves everyone, truth is relative, etc., etc. Here’s a clip of one of these exchanges:
* * * * * * * * * * * *
Simple Mann says:

“Worship me or I will torture you forever.” – TD calling himself “Biblegod”

“My point was to distill the bible into one sentence. And I succeeded.”

Obviously you have not read the Bible, and so you are completely ignorant about the subject as well as the object that you are trying to summarize. You can be forgiven your ignorance, though, and still be accepted by the God that created you. That is actually a better summary sentence.

I am in my mid-thirties and have three children of my own. Twenty years ago, I was a fifteen year old rebellious teenager. I believed in luck, in chaos, and in the power of self, but considered myself an atheist because I refused to believe in God. I hadn’t ever read the Bible, either, yet I chose to reject it and everything in it even though I was completely ignorant of it. I also rebelled against my parents. I drank, I did drugs, I skipped school, I got caught, and I got punished. And in my frustration and ignorance as a teenage super-idiot, I saw the love and discipline my parents used to try to *grow* me and their efforts to try and prevent me from the disastrous consequences I deserved for my obnoxious behavior as “torture”. I thought they were unloving, but that was actually not the case at all. They were very loving. They were also much, much wiser than I was, and even though I rejected their wisdom, their discipline, and their values, a few years later as I did begin to mature and grow (and sometimes suffer from my own bad choices) I began to understand that the whole time we battled against each other, they were loving me and trying to help me. My heart was the one that was full of evil. As the years have gone by, I have learned to appreciate more and more all the things my parents were trying to do, as well as their tireless love as their motivation. Now that I have children of my own, I have been able to experience the paradigm shift and understand how much love they must have had for someone who, in my case, was so completely worthless and undeserving. But they never gave up loving me.

I thank God that He gave me such wonderful parents because He was able to use what they did for me to open my eyes to a small glimpse of what He does for us. Even when we reject Him, His authority, His wisdom–yes, His LOVE–even when we are consumed with our own ignorance and our compulsion for evil, He still tirelessly loves us. Those of us who have come to accept this love, embrace the Father and the Son by the power of the Holy Spirit. We still experience discipline, but we now have the correct understanding that it is for our propensity for good, and not our compulsion for evil that we are disciplined.

One day, you may cease your struggle with God and very well find yourself weeping for the love He has had for you this entire time. I know I did. But in all truth, not everyone reaches that point. Not everyone abides in His love. I would certainly encourage you to read the Bible–not by picking out verses and attacking them individually, but by really, truly reading God’s word in it’s entirety and see if it doesn’t change you completely.

Peace & Blessings,
Simple Mann

* * * * * * * * * * * *
loveisthekey says: I’m glad to hear that you were fortunate to have such wonderful, loving parents.

So too is God a loving parent – so much so that he would not allow ANY of his lost children to perish in the pit of fire forEVER.

If your human parents did not give up on you, how could God?


* * * * * * * * * * * *

Simple Mann says:

LoveIs,

While it is helpful to think of God as a loving parent and there are some obvious similarities, that is not ALL that God is. Human parents are not perfect in their knowledge, wisdom, love, or anger. And to be sure God’s wrath and His hatred of sin, while not a topic most people enjoy, is still valid and valuable to consider.

Also, there comes time even for earthly parents where, despite their love for their children, difficult choices must be made. Consider this situation. A loving set of parents have five children, and by the time these kids are grown, two of them have developed an incestuous relationship, and one has developed a drug addiction. The parents, though devastated and completely heartbroken by the sin within their family, still try to counsel these that have gone astray. The other two children seem to have come along fine, married good spouses and started families of their own. Over a long period of time, the incestuous pair refuse to let go of their sin, and the drug addict refuses to get help. These three completely reject the love and counsel of their parents. At some point, these loving parents will probably make a decision to invest more in those children who are doing well and living right than the ones who want to hold on to their sins. Eventually, they may even be cut off. And when (in this case) the parents die, and the inheritance is left for their children, who do you think will be rewarded? In our case, it is not the parents but the children who die, but the idea of the inheritance is just as valid. Who do you think will be rewarded? Everyone equally, despite the choices they’ve made? Or the ones who did what is right?

When in doubt, always seek wisdom in the Scriptures. The idea that God loves everyone and everyone goes to Heaven is not an idea that is found in the Bible. Be careful that you are not embracing the New Age ideas that are so popular today. They are false doctrines… as Paul called them rightly “doctrines of demons”. Heed Jesus warnings in Matthew 7:13-23:

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”

“Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? Likewise every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them.

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!'”

Peace & Blessings,
Simple Mann

* * * * * * * * * * * *
loveisthekey says: “The idea that God loves everyone and everyone goes to Heaven is not an idea that is found in the Bible.”

Actually, I disagree. If the words attributed to Jesus are to be believed, he taught again and again about forgiving 70 times 7 times, and how the Good Shepherd always goes after EVERY lost sheep, and the Father takes back the prodigal son.

“Be careful that you are not embracing the New Age ideas that are so popular today. They are false doctrines… as Paul called them rightly “doctrines of demons”.”

Here it comes! As expected, right on schedule! You people must keep Energizer batteries in business!

I pity you, Simple Mann. I know you mean well, but you cannot even distinguish the wolf from the sheep.

Yeah, I look at the fruit – the fruit of most born-again Christians I’ve met on this forum is rancid and rotton.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Simple Mann says:

LoveIs,

The story of the prodigal son is a great story, but the key to understanding the Father’s forgiveness in that story was the repentance of the son. And what if the son had never gone back to the Father asking for mercy? How could he then be forgiven?

And if everyone is going to heaven and is already saved, why is the Shepherd worried about lost sheep? Why would they need to be found and saved if there was no danger that they might perish? And just because the Shepherd goes after every lost sheep, does not mean that all that are lost respond to His voice.

You can take your pity back. I do not want or need it. “You people…” You do not know me or my life, and though your judgment seems quick and certain, you would probably be surprised if you had the smallest insight. And there are just as many confused sheep out there wearing wolves garments as there are wolves wearing sheep’s. Which kind of crossdressing Christian are you? And are you so sure?

Lose your self. Find your Savior.
Remove the beam, and love your neighbor.

Peace & Blessings,
Simple Mann

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
loveisthekey says:

“Why would they need to be found and saved if there was no danger that they might perish? “

They don’t need a savior. They need to evolve spiritually. Jesus and all the other Avatars of Light show the way. Each may choose to follow or not. But if they choose the path of darkness, it’s not forEVER. Eventually they may tire of the dark and choose the LIGHT. And if they do, God would not turn them away.

“You do not know me or my life, and though your judgment seems quick and certain, you would probably be surprised if you had the smallest insight. “

Again, sorry if I’m a bit testy here. You have to understand that I’ve been engaged in ‘dialog’ (if one can call it that) with a number of Christians over the past month or 2, and these people have been horribly judgmental towards me and actually quite nasty.

I don’t want to judge you as others have judged me. You’re right that I don’t know you. But you sound like the others, so I reacted. I get a little tired of hearing that every path except YOUR path is ‘satanic.’ It gets kinda old.

If Christians practiced LOVE, there wouldn’t be a problem. But, for the most part, they practice JUDGMENT, not love. And they are fear-based.

Crossdressing Christian?? What’s that? I follow the Christ, but I am not a Christian in the religious sense. I was for 25 years but have since moved on.

“And are you so sure?”

What I am sure about is that the Christians who go around saying that New Age, Buddhism, Paganism etc are all ‘satanic’ don’t know what they are talking about. They know only their book and what their religious leaders have taught them.

You have not answered my other post…so how much do you know of Taoism?

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Another discussion began with the following post, and a little further down the same person I was discoursing with above posted the age-old blind men and the elephant analogy, so I responded to that as well.
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Robyn C. says:

Hey, folks! Here is a place to discuss the many different paths one can choose to live by. Everyone knows that most Christians believe there is only ONE path. This isn’t the place to discuss that. This is a place to discuss the paths that are not as well known or popular. Perhaps you follow Gnosticism or you are a Christian who believes there are other paths. Maybe you are a mainstream Christian who wishes to learn more about the others. Maybe you don’t have a label for yourself, but are interested in discussing other views.

This is a place for civil discussion and learning from each other. If we can all be civil, even when we disagree, then there shouldn’t be any need for other rules.

-r

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
loveisthekey says: I consider each religion to have a part of the truth. I think God is so much bigger and grander than we can possibly imagine – He just cannot fit into a box, a set of rules. It’s like the blind men and the elephant:

4 blind men approached an elephant. The 1st blind man touched the elephant’s tail and said ‘Aha! An elephant is like a rope!’

The 2nd blind man touched the side of the elephant and said, ‘You are wrong. I am right. An elephant is clearly like a wall.’

The 3rd blind man touched the elephant’s trunk and said ‘You are both wrong. An elephant is like a snake.’

The 4th blind man touched the elephant’s leg and said, ‘You idiots are ALL wrong! Only I am right! An elephant is obviously like a tree!’

So, that is how I see religion. It can be very useful, but I don’t think it has ALL the answers. Religions seem to be different, but that’s only on the petty details. Each culture has a different way of interpreting the mysteries of God, so their religion will have a different flavor than a religion originating in another part of the world. But their essence is all the same! LOVE, PEACE, FORGIVENESS, COMPASSION.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Simple Mann says:

There are millions of blind men describing the elephant today, but there was one who SAW and had ALL knowledge. Interestingly this is what He said:

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”

“Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? Likewise every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them.

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!'” (Matthew 7:13-23)

Absolute truth is scary, and relativism is much more vogue. Go on and pursue your paths and call yourselves enlightened, and let your feelings lead you where they will. I embraced this approach for many years, on my cosmic quest for truth. I decided I would seek it everywhere but the Bible. I studied Mysticism, Kabbalah, Buddhism, Taoism, Western and Eastern mystical traditions, and had a marvelous synthesis of feelings and beliefs. I rejected the Bible and Jesus Christ, resented Christians, and refused to even look at much less consider the Cross of Jesus Christ. Purely by the grace of God, my eyes were one day opened and I found that for all my “worldly knowledge and wisdom” I was not wise at all, but only a knowledgeable fool. My foolish and contrite heart finally broke and I was laid bare before God. Everything I believed was torn down like the walls of Jericho. I began to read the Bible with an open heart and an open mind, and it still continues to transform to this day. I will choose my “narrow-minded” understanding of God through His Word any day over the mass of “open-minded” confusion I suffered before I came to Christ as my Savior.

Say what you want, think what you want, feel what you want. But if you ask me, I will tell you straight away, I do believe there is only way to Heaven, and that the Truth in the Bible is absolute. It is far more challenging to walk with Christ than to build your own religion, but having traveled both paths I can testify that only abiding in Christ bore any real fruit in this man’s life.

Peace and blessings,
Simple Mann

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Comments Off on Dis-ease and Dis-traction

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

